Tags

, , , ,

Ideal work environment:

I like the dark. My desk lamp is always pointed at the rear wall. The bounced light illuminates the room just enough to see my keyboard. The sound of the corner fan humming soothes me. It’s difficult for me to do anything without a little noise. My first apartment was on a busy street, and I got accustomed to the many sounds of the city at night. Even sleeping is difficult without the melody of the whirring fan blades. The same could be said of the cool breeze it produces. It reminds me of a time in my youth when I’d sleep with the window open letting the evening air envelop me. With keys clicking I write my thoughts. Each button press adding a note to the music played by the humming device. A duet in a shadowy quiet room. Heaven.

Least ideal work environment:

Damn phone, I can’t type three words without its infernal sounding. How am I ever going to get this done? Great, here comes the boss now. I click the the little icon to minimize my computer’s window. At least I thought that’s what I was doing. I click the “x” instead. It’s all gone every word I typed. Why the hell didn’t I save? Idiot. I drown my sorrow in the emptiness of data entry, and daydream of a time when writing is my only job.

